Since our office is located in Las Vegas, Nevada and most of our clients receive tickets in Clark County, Nevada, we thought we'd share a little more information about Las Vegas traffic tickets here.
Even if you've never received a ticket before, or if you are on your third or fourth ticket, there are still some questions you might have. So let's get right to it.
TIPS FOR OLDER DRIVERS IN LAS VEGAS
Most older people are capable and have a lifetime of valuable driving experiences.
For these reasons, decisions about a person’s ability to drive should never be based on age alone. However, changes in vision, physical fitness and reflexes may cause safety concerns.
People who accurately assess these changes can adjust their driving habits so that they stay safe on the road or choose other kinds of transportation.
There are real risks for older drivers.
Older adults make up nine percent of the U.S. population but accounted for 13 percent of all traffic fatalities.
Drivers age 55 and over are involved in more crashes per mile driven compared with drivers 30-54.
In crashes of equal intensity, those 75 and older are three times more likely to die than a 20-year old and 80 year-olds are four times more likely.
If you are an older driver in Las Vegas, some of the following tips can help you avoid a traffic ticket or an accident:
• Be aware of the physical limitations which come with aging and how they may affect driving such as loss of visual acuity, diminished hearing, changes in physical strength, slower reaction time, and side effects of medication
• Plan your routes and keep to the plan. Avoid heavy traffic and driving at night. Do practice runs for new routes and trips you must make at night.
• Listen to what people tell you who know you best and care about you most.
• Discuss driving with your doctor. He or she can evaluate the interactions and side effects of all the medications you may be taking.
• Refresh your knowledge of safe driving practices and learn about new traffic control and roadway design features through a mature driver class.
• Begin planning for alternative ways of meeting your transportation needs. Learn about transportation options in your community, then try them out to see which options work best for you.
Las Vegas driving can be distracting enough. Add children or a pet to your vehicle and driving in Las Vegas can be almost impossible. Nevada law requires drivers to comply with certain provisions when transporting children and pets. We offer these reminders of the law in Nevada. If you don’t follow it, chances are you will receive a Las Vegas traffic ticket.It is against the law to leave a child under the age of 7 in an unattended vehicle if if the conditions present a significant risk to the health and safety of that child unless the child is being supervised by, and within sight of, a person at least 12 years old. It is illegal to leave a dog or cat unattended in a vehicle during periods of extreme heat or cold. Law enforcement, firefighters and other officials may use reasonable force to rescue the animal. Passengers under 18 may not ride in the back of a pickup or flatbed truck. This does not apply, however, to farming and ranching activity, parades or to camper shells or slide-in campers. Remember these basic rules when transporting children or pets and avoid a ticket. The fines associated with these offenses can be costly. If you have received a ticket for leaving your children or pets unattended or transporting your children or pets in violation of the law, call us today at (702) 433-2889. We can help.
KIDS, PETS AND DRIVING IN LAS VEGAS
CAN I GET A TICKET FOR DISPLAYING A VANITY PLATE IN LAS VEGAS?We have all seen them around Las Vegas. The vanity plates on cars range from ISUMD4U to 2CUTE and everything in between. If you are driving a car with license plates, follow these tips to avoid being pulled over and receiving a Las Vegas Traffic Ticket.
Nevada law requires most vehicles to display front and rear license plates at all times, except motorcycles and trailers, which require only a rear plate. You must display both plates if the vehicle is designed for a front plate or if the manufacturer offers an add-on bracket or frame.
If your vehicle was not designed for front plates and the manufacturer did not provide an add-on bracket or other means of displaying the front plate, you do not have to display a front plate. If for some reason you are not displaying your front plate, it is your responsibility to store the second plate and surrender or return both plates to the department at the appropriate time.
License plates must at all times be securely fastened to the vehicle so as to prevent the plate from swinging and at a height not less than 12 inches from the ground, measuring from the bottom of such plate, in a place and position to be clearly visible. It must be maintained free from foreign materials and in a condition to be clearly legible.
Registration decals which indicate the month and year of expiration are placed on the upper right-hand corner of the rear plate. Your registration expires on the exact date listed on the slip; it is not valid until the end of the month.
License plate specifications call for plates to be readable from a distance of 100 feet during daylight. At night, plates must be readable from 110 feet and visible from 1,500 feet when lit by standard headlights. Rear plates must display a decal with the month and year of expiration.
Nevada license plates are issued to people and businesses, not to vehicles. You may transfer your existing plates to a new vehicle. Plate transfers between individuals require a witnessed statement which can be completed at the DMV at the time of registration.
Plate frames or covers are not prohibited as long as the above requirements are met and the plate is clearly legible.
If you have been cited for a license plate violation, call us at (702) 433-2889. We can help.